Irish Music

As long as there will be Irish weddings, they will be accompanied by Irish music. For ages, Irish marriages have been blessed with many beautiful songs sung by talented artists with a variety of instruments.

This tradition began long ago when pipers would play announcing the arrival of the chief of a Celtic clan. This ceremony of music to signify an important occasion carries over today in the wedding music. Many Irish weddings incorporate bagpipers in some way.

Some wedding guests arrive to the sound of traditional Uilleann pipes. Others have pipers leading the bride to the Church or down the aisle, playing outside the Church or as guests arrive at the reception.

Most traditionally, pipers play as the couple leaves the reception. To find a piper anywhere in the world, go to Bagpiper.com for complete information.

Other Irish music options for a wedding include a harp or a Celtic band. An Irish pub is an excellent place to hear a variety of Irish music from lively bands. There are also a couple of delightful radio programs that provide the best in Irish music. “Celtic Connections” and “Thistle and Shamrock” are available on many National Public Radio stations.

Irish songs include:

Haste to the Wedding
The Irish Wedding Song
Danny Boy
Irish Jig
Someone Like You
The Black Velvet Band
The Biplane Evermore
Irish Way to Love
Wedding Bells
She Wears My Ring
My Wild Irish Rose
Irish Heartbeat

Irish music artists include:

The Chieftains http://www.thechieftains.com/
The Three Irish Tenors http://www.thethreeirishtenors.com/
U2 http://www.u2.com/
Mary Black http://www.mary-black.net/
Clannad http://www.clannad.ie/
Van Morrison http://www.vanmorrison.co.uk/
Christy Moore http://www.christymoore.com/
Sinead O’Connor http://www.sinead-oconnor.com/
Robert Doyle http://www.robertdoyle.net/
The Irish Rovers http://www.irishrovers.info/

Leave a Reply